Designed for educators, information specialists, and students in the health sciences, this course describes different types of health statistics, how they are collected, and where they can be found.
Types of Health Data
Health data can be gathered from a number of different sources. When using data consider the source, how it was collected, why it was collected, and its limitations.
Population Surveys
Also known as household surveys, these are a major source of health data. Their advantage is that they include information beyond just those who use health services, unlike some other data sources.
Provider Surveys
Surveys of physicians, hospitals and nursing homes can be an important source of information on medical transactions and patients.
Vital Records
Vital records include births, deaths, marriages, divorces, and fetal deaths. They provide detailed information about a person’s birth and may include data on rare disorders that result in death.
Disease Registries
Disease Registries track the incidence, prevalence, and outcomes of specific diseases and conditions.
Medical Records
Medical records provide information on diagnoses, procedures, lab tests, and other services. They can be used to track trends and assess the quality of health care.
Medical Datasets
-
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance systemThe Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is a system of health-related telephone surveys that collect data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors.
-
CDC WonderCDC Wonder is a public health data repository developed by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention(CDC). It provides free access to a wide range of health-related datasets.
-
ClinicalTrials.govClinicalTrials.gov is a website and online database of clinical research studies and information about their results. The purpose of ClinicalTrials.gov is to provide information about clinical research studies to the public, researchers, and health care professionals.
-
Data.govHere you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
-
Global Health Data (GHDx)The GHDx directly supports IHME’s mission to improve the health of the world’s populations by providing the best information on population health. It was created as a dedicated place for anyone interested in global health and demography to quickly find and share information about data along with actual datasets.
-
Global Health ObservatoryThe GHO data repository is WHO's gateway to health-related statistics for its 194 Member States. It provides access to over 1000 indicators on priority health topics including mortality and burden of diseases, the Millennium Development Goals (child nutrition, child health, maternal and reproductive health, immunization, HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, neglected diseases, water and sanitation), non communicable diseases and risk factors, epidemic-prone diseases, health systems, environmental health, violence and injuries, equity among others.
-
HealthData.govHealthdata.gov is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.
-
Healthy People 2030Healthy People 2030 sets data-driven national objectives to improve health and well-being over the next decade.
-
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
-
NIH Biologic Specimen and Data Repository Information Coordinating Center - BIOLINCCThis website serves to coordinate searches across data and biospecimen collections and to provide an electronic means for requests for additional information and the submission of requests for collections.
Utah Health Statistics
-
IBIS-PH: Utah's Public Health Data ResourceThis site provides health data with context on the health of Utahns and status of the Utah healthcare system.
-
UT-EPHTUtah Environmental Public Health Tracking Network.
-
Utah Department of Health & Human Services Healthcare Information and Analysis ProgramThe Healthcare Information and Analysis Program implements the goals and directions of the Utah Health Data Committee. The Program collects, analyzes, and disseminates health care data. The data helps people understand cost, quality, access, and value in our health care system and allows users to identify opportunities for improvement.
-
Utah Health Data DashboardsThe Utah Health Data Dashboard is an interactive visual presentation of health data in Utah. It includes data about opioids, tobacco, respiratory disease, immunizations, invasive bacterial diseases, as well as reports on Utah's wastewater surveillance system.
-
Utah Healthy Places Index (HPI)The Utah Healthy Places Index (HPI) is a powerful and easy-to-use data and policy platform created to advance health equity through open and accessible data. It's an evidence-based and peer-reviewed tool that can help support efforts to prioritize equitable community investments, develop critical programs and policies across the state, and much more.